Sister cities

Kuopio is twinned with 15 towns and engages in cooperation with the county of West Viru in Estonia.

Kuopio's sister cities are:

  • Bodø, Norway
  • Jönköping, Sweden
  • Svendborg, Denmark
  • Pitkäranta, Republic of Karelia (operations suspended)
  • Pskov, Russia (operations suspended)
  • Alūksne, Latvia
  • Castrop-Rauxel, Germany
  • Gera, Germany
  • Besançon, France
  • Opole, Poland
  • Győr, Hungary
  • Craiova, Romania
  • Pudong New Area, Shanghai, China
  • Winnipeg, Canada
  • Minneapolis, USA

The City of Kuopio has an international programme with an emphasis on everyday human contacts and collaboration between educational institutions and businesses. Twin city activities are a key element of the strategy, involving both cultural and youth exchange and companies, schools and universities.

Read more about the many forms of international cooperation on the Business Kuopio website.

Contact information Contact information

Pirjo Kolari
International and PR assistant
+358 44 718 2011