Welcome to school


The City of Kuopio provides education at 40 comprehensive schools. Kuopio has divided into different school areas that determine child’s local school. Private schools providing basic education include the Virkkula Steiner School and the Kuopio Christian School. Basic education, consisting of school years one to nine, is for children aged between 7 and 16.

Once pupils have completed their basic education, they have the option of an additional year of comprehensive school on a voluntary basis (the 10th grade).